ST, InvenSense, X-Fab amongst MEMS award winners

November 27, 2014 // By Peter Clarke
An inaugural set of awards was handed out to participants in the MEMS industry at the United State MEMS Executive Congress 2014 held in Scottsdale, Arizona, earlier this month.

Dubbed MEMSies by the organizers of the event and the awards, the MEMS Industry Group (MIG), there were 10 awards. However, while STMicroelectronics and InvenSense each picked up two awards there were no gongs going the way of Bosch Sensortec, which is credited with being the 2013 market leader by market research firm Yole Developpement.


MIG stated that the winners were selected by way of a month-long open voting process that took place online based on short lists of candidates.



The full list of winners is:


MEMS/Sensors device of the Year STMicroelectronics for its LSM6DS3 6-axis accelerometer-gyro combination sensor.


MEMS/Sensors Engineer of the Year Joe Seeger of InvenSense for his work on the ICM-20728, a 3-axis gyroscope + 3-axis accelerometer + pressure sensor single-chip platform.


MEMS/Sensors foundry of the year X-Fab MEMS foundry


MEMS/Sensor startup of the year mCube


MEMS/Sensors supplier of the year SPTS Technologies


MEMS/Sensors designer of the year InvenSense for the ICM20728, an integrated 3-axis gyroscope + 3-axis accelerometer + pressure sensor.


MEMS/Sensors consultant of the year Jeremie Bouchaud , IHS


MEMS/Sensors integrator of the year MEMS Vision


MEMS/Sensors executive of the year Babak Taheri, Freescale Semiconductors


Lifetime achievement award Bruno Murari , STMicroelectronics.



Related links and articles:


News articles:


Bosch leads Yole's MEMS market top 30 ranking


X-Fab cranks up MEMS capacities


ST claims 5 billion MEMS sensors shipped


InvenSense claims 400 million 6-axis sensors shipped