Atwood, Harari, Kitamura honored for multi-level cell memory

Atwood, Harari, Kitamura honored for multi-level cell memory

Technology News |
By Peter Clarke

The Flash Memory Summit 2022 (FMS) has announced this year’s recipients of its Lifetime Achievement Award.

The three recipients are: Yoshishige Kitamura, formerly of NEC; Eli Harari, founder of SanDisk; and Greg Atwood, formerly of Intel, Numonyx, and Micron. All three played an important role in bringing multi-level cell (MLC) storage to the flash memory industry.

FMS will honor these individuals for their accomplishments during the annual summit taking place August 2 to 4 at the Santa Clara Convention Center in Santa Clara, California on Tuesday, August 2 at 11:30am Pacific Time.

The first MLC, with 2 bits per cell, was productized in 1996. Since then the approach has matured and triple-level cell (TLC) products supporting 3 bits and quad-level cell (QLC) supporting 4 bits per cell are now commonplace. Such density usually comes with a trade-off against performance.

There is currently a worldwide effort to enable penta-level cell (PLC) products which would support 5 bits per cell.

Related links and articles:

News articles:

SanDisk founder has his next memory chip startup

Kioxia, Western Digital develop 162-layer 3D-NAND

Samsung plans to ‘double-stack’ 3D-NAND flash memory

If you enjoyed this article, you will like the following ones: don't miss them by subscribing to :    eeNews on Google News


Linked Articles