Electric racing team preps for first car race in Zurich since 1955

Electric racing team preps for first car race in Zurich since 1955

Business news |
By Nick Flaherty

The DRAGON team is backed by distributor Mouser Electronics, as well as Molex and TTI to support all-electric car technology.

The tenth round of the 2018 ABB FIA Formula E Championship series will take place on a 1.5 mile course on the streets of Zurich on June 10th. Switzerland banned auto racing in 1954 due to safety concerns, but the improved safety built into today’s vehicles as well as the sustainability and technological advancements of all-electric auto racing persuaded the Swiss government lifted the ban.

The Championship features cars that are powered solely by electric power and is used as a framework for research and development for mainstream electric vehicles, and the technology is already making its way into series production.

The Mouser-sponsored cars are piloted this year by Jerome D’Ambrosio and three-time FIA WTCC drivers’ champion José María López. This is the fourth season of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship and the fourth season that Mouser Electronics is a team sponsor.      

“Formula E is at the forefront of the electric car revolution, and we are very proud to have a role in helping to develop sustainable transportation around the world,” said Todd McAtee, Vice President, Americas Business Development for Mouser Electronics.

“Molex is honored to continue our collaboration with Mouser and TTI to sponsor the DRAGON team,” said Fred Bell, Vice President of Global Distribution for Molex. “We are committed to innovative technology and working to further advance the industry.”

“TTI is excited to partner with Mouser and Molex in supporting the DRAGON team and this exciting cutting-edge automotive technology,” said Mike Morton, TTI Chief Operating Officer.

The electric design provides a way to boost performance. FANBOOST gives fans the opportunity to vote for their favourite driver and award them an extra boost of power during the race. The three drivers with the most FANBOOST votes are awarded a significant burst of power, which they can deploy in a 5-second window during the second half of the race. FANBOOST voting opens six days before the race and is available all the way up to six minutes into the race.

The next race is the season finale in Brookyn, New Yoirk on July 14 and 15.

To register for FANBOOST and to see the full Formula E schedule, visit

Related stories:

If you enjoyed this article, you will like the following ones: don't miss them by subscribing to :    eeNews on Google News


Linked Articles