Robust interconnect system for autonomous vehicles

Robust interconnect system for autonomous vehicles

Technology News |
By Ally Winning

As part of the €29m CHARM (Challenging Environments Tolerant Smart Systems for IoT and AI) research project, AT&S is targetting autonomous mining systems.

Hannes Stahr, Group Technology Manager at AT&S, explains: “Together with companies and research institutes from ten different countries, we are working on the development of powerful computer modules that could be used in fully autonomous mining vehicles in the future. AT&S’s contribution is to develop a robust and resistant interconnection concept for a high-performance computer chip”.

In the concept development phase a measurement chip is used to check and validate system stability and reliability. In a later phase, this chip will be replaced by a high-performance processor embedded in a substrate as a “translator” between the micro-world of the circuit board and the nanostructures of the microchip, thus enabling miniaturisation and highest data processing speeds at the same time. This interposer is necessary so that the machines used can carry out complex activities autonomously and at the same time guarantee the highest level of operational reliability due to their stable construction.

The development work in this project focuses on the mining sector, but the results of the work can also be used for other segments: “Of course we can also transfer the findings from this project to areas of automated driving for cars and trucks,” says Stahr. Here, there are already cooperations with the automotive supplier industry.

The three-year “CHARM” project is being implemented as part of the ECSEL (Electronic Components and Systems for European Leadership) initiative and involves 37 partners from ten European countries. Co-financing is provided by ECSEL, EU Horizon 2020, the national funding agencies of the participating countries and the consortium partners. The partners come from Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Italy, Latvia, the Netherlands, Poland and Switzerland.

More information:

Other articles on eeNews Europe

If you enjoyed this article, you will like the following ones: don't miss them by subscribing to :    eeNews on Google News


Linked Articles