Silicon Europe expands with 13 regions

Silicon Europe expands with 13 regions

Business news |
By Nick Flaherty

Thirteen regions of Europe have come together to form a semiconductor alliance.

The 13 microelectronics regions from nine EU member states signed a Memorandum of Understanding and say they are working with representatives of EU institutions, including the European Commissioner for the Internal Market Thierry Breton, and the industry.

While the fabs in Dresden, Saxony, research labs in Belgium and the Netherlands and design teams in the South of France are strong parts of the European ecosystem the alliance also includes regions of Spain, Austria and the Czech Republic.  

The aim is to discuss the prospects of the European semiconductor ecosystem as part of Silicon Europe to jointly strengthen growth and increase the competitive share of the European semiconductor industry through joint research & innovation, skills & talent development as well as cluster development & cooperation. 

Members of the regional alliance are: Basque Country (ES), Bavaria (DE), Centro-Region (PT), Flanders (BE), Carinthia (AT), Catalonia (ES), North Brabant (NL), Overijssel (NL), Piedmont (IT), Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur (FR), Saxony (DE), Styria (AT) and South Moravia (CZ). Further regions will follow soon says Silicon Europe.

If you enjoyed this article, you will like the following ones: don't miss them by subscribing to :    eeNews on Google News


Linked Articles