Slideshow: Twelve shakers and movers in MEMS: Page 9 of 11

March 03, 2014 //By Peter Clarke
Slideshow: Twelve shakers and movers in MEMS
On the following pages you will find the names and brief biographies of 12 individuals who have, or who are, doing much to drive microelectromechanical system (MEMS) components forward both technically and commercially.

Kurt Petersen is a serial entrepreneur who has helped build the MEMS industry. Since 1982 he has co-founded six MEMS companies: Transensory Devices in 1982, NovaSensor in 1985 (now owned by GE), Cepheid in 1996 (now a public company), SiTime in 2004, Profusa in 2008, and Verreon in 2009 (acquired by Qualcomm). He has his own consulting company KP-MEMS.

Between 1975 and 1982 Petersen established a micromachining research group at IBM and wrote an important review paper that was published by the IEEE in 1982: Silicon as a Mechanical Material. In April 2013 Petersen joined the board of directors of Innovative Micro Technology Inc. (Santa Barbara, Calif.) a foundry manufacturer of MEMS components.

Related links and articles:

Vous êtes certain ?

Si vous désactivez les cookies, vous ne pouvez plus naviguer sur le site.

Vous allez être rediriger vers Google.